Fall for Writing Conference, Oct 15-16: Sign Up Now

09/21 John Dufrense Book Reading and Signing

Date: Sept 21, 2013 Time: 4:30-6:00 Number of sessions:  Members: FREE Nonmembers: FREE Location: The NEW Ink Spot, NTC at Liberty Station, 2730 Historic Decatur Rd., Barracks 16, Suite 202, San Diego, CA 92106

Saturday, September 21, 4:30-6 pm

At The NEW Ink Spot, NTC at Liberty Station, 2730 Historic Decatur Rd., Barracks 16, Suite 202, San Diego, CA 92106

John Dufrense Book Reading and Signing

San Diego Writers, Ink welcomes beloved author and writing teacher John Dufresne for a reading and book signing celebrating his new novel, No Regrets, Coyote. Also giving readings are local authors T. Greenwood, Bonnie ZoBell, and Zoe Ghahremani.

For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane, No Regrets, Coyote, is a South Florida noir from the best-selling author of Louisiana Power & Light. On Christmas Eve in Eden, Florida, Wylie “Coyote” Melville, therapist and forensic consultant, is summoned to a horrific crime scene. Five members of the Halliday family have been brutally killed. Wylie’s rare talent is an ability to read a crime scene, consider the evidence seen and unseen, and determine what’s likely to have happened. The police are soon convinced that the deaths were a murder-suicide carried out by a broken and desperate Chafin Halliday, but Wylie’s not so sure. What follows is a heart-stopping, edgy novel that introduces a completely original crime solver.

John Dufresne is the author of five novels: Louisiana Power & LightLove Warps the Mind a Little, (both New York Times Notable Books of the Year) Deep in the Shade of Paradise,Requiem, Mass., and No Regrets, Coyote.  He also wrote two short story collections, three chapbooks, and two books on writing and creativity. One of those books (Is Life Like This?) is the basis for a three-hour fiction workshop preceding the reading. John was a 2012-13 Guggenheim Fellow and teaches in the MFA program at Florida International University in Miami.

 

T. Greenwood is the author of eight novels, including Bodies of Water, available Sept. 24. She has received grants from the Sherwood Anderson Foundation, the Christopher Isherwood Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and, most recently, the Maryland State Arts Council. Two Rivers and Grace both won San Diego Book Awards. Four of her novels have been BookSense76/IndieBound picks;Grace was an April 2012 selection. She teaches creative writing online for The Writer’s Center in Maryland and for San Diego Writers, Ink. She and her husband, Patrick, live with in San Diego with their two daughters. She is also a photographer.

BONNIE ZOBELL’S chapbook collection The Whack-Job Girls was released by Monkey Puzzle Press in March 2013, and her collection ofconnected short stories What Happened Here is forthcoming with Press 53 in spring 2014. She’s received an NEA for her fiction, the Capricorn Novel Award, and a PEN Syndicated Fiction Award for a story that was later read on NPR. The Los Angeles Review nominated one of her stories for a Pushcart Prize, a story from SmokeLong Quarterly was included in Wigleaf’s Top 50, another published by Storyglossia was named as a notable story of 2010 by storySouth’s Million Writers Award. Her work has appeared in numerous publications, including Night Train, The Greensboro Review, New Plains Review, PANK, and The Connotation Press.

Zohreh (Zoe) Ghahremani has written four books: The Comiserator 2000 (in Persian), Sky of Red Poppies 2010, The Moon Daughter 2013. Her satirical memoir as a dentist, Drill, Fill & Bill, awaits its turn. She is currently editing The Basement. In addition, Zoe has contributed to a few anthologies, including Themes 2006, A Year In Ink 2009, The Poetry of Iranian Women 2010, Tremors (University of Arkansas Press) 2013.

Following decades of teaching at Northwestern University while practicing pediatric dentistry, Zoe gave it all up in 2000 to be a full-time writer. She lives in San Diego with her husband Gary and close to their three children. Her work has won several awards, including first place in California Stories 2005, San Diego Book Awards 2004, and many more. Over two hundred of her articles have appeared in magazines in the US. Her Sky of Red Poppies was a 2012 One Book, One San Diego selection.

T.C. Porter is the event host. He facilitates writing groups for SDWI on Tuesdays and first-and-third Sundays, and is frequent contributor to the blog. He is working on his first novel.