Start Your New Year Off WRITE!

A Year in Ink, Volume 8

A Year in Ink (YII) is an anthology of the creative work of San Diego County writers, published each year by San Diego Writers, Ink. The annual publication represents a sampling of the tangible results of our community’s diligent scribblers.

Volume 8 includes short stories, novel and memoir excerpts, creative nonfiction, satire, flash fiction, and poetry. Anthology authors are a diverse group, young and old, new writers and much-published veterans.

SDWI receives numerous submissions each summer;  A Year in Ink follows a blind submission process; authors are not identified until the selection process ends.

You can order this book!

$10 + shipping (within continental U.S.) = $13.75

Email with questions or to arrange for price quote for outside the continental U.S.


Editors for Volume 8:

deannelsonDean Nelson (Prose):  Dr. Dean Nelson is the founder and director of the journalism program at PLNU. He writes occasionally for the New York Times, the Boston GlobeChristianity TodaySojourners, and several other national publications. He has won several awards from the Society of Professional Journalists for his reporting, and has written or co-written 11 books. He has traveled throughout the world covering stories of human interest, including India, where he wrote about the slums of Bombay; Kosovo, where he interviewed and wrote about victims of terrorism; Africa, where he wrote about members of the Black Panther Party who live in exile in Tanzania; Tibet, where he wrote about religious persecution; and Central America, where he wrote about poverty and contaminated water.  In addition to directing the PLNU journalism program, Nelson also hosts the annual Writer’s Symposium By The Sea, where prominent writers come to discuss the craft of writing.

regegainesreg e. gaines (Poetry): This Tony-nominated writer, for the Broadway hit Bring in Da Noise/Bring in Da Funk, reg e gaines has facilitated his popular, “Is Poetry Theater?” workshops during various residencies including, The University of Southern California, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, The New Jersey Performing Arts Center, Los Angeles Windward School, The Nuyorican Poets Café, Voz Alta Project Gallery, The World Stage, Beyond Baroque, Farleigh Dickinson University, Rosa Parks Performing Arts Academy, Passaic County Community College, Montclair Public Library, and Scratch DJ Academy, which he co-founded with Jam Master Jay and Rob Principe.


Authors published in Volume 8:

Anita Knowles
Anitra Carol Smith
Anne Canter
Barb Huntington
Carrie Danielson
Chloe Sparacino
Christina Dorudian
Claudia Poquoc
Clayton Truscott
Dania Brett
David Raines
Debbie Hall
Diane Malloy
Elizabeth Forsyth
Frank Primiano
Fred Longworth
James M. McCollum
Jesse Robinson
Jill G. Hall
Jim Moreno
John Castell
Judy Reeves
Kenneth Zak
Lawrence Richard Carleton
Linda Hutchison
Loree Hill
Lynn Gahman
Mark Tuller
Martha Kinkade
Mary Fry
Michael W. Berns
Michael Evangelista
Mike Hedrick
Nancy Dimsdale
Nazli Ghassemi
Penelope James
Rebecca Romani
Regina Morin
Ron Salisbury
Seretta Martin
Shannon Bates
Steve Bruno
Sumilu Cue
Sylvia Levinson
Sylvia J. Nelson
Tania Pryputniewicz
Tim Calaway
Tina Culp Barton