SDWI Certificate in Novel Writing

Are you ready to take your writing to the next level? Enroll in our Certificate Program in Novel Writing with Tammy Greenwood.

Since 2015, we have been proud to offer two different Novel Writing certificates to our members. You will earn this certificate by enrolling and attending Tammy’s Novel Series of workshops, attending Room to Write Sessions, and, for the Advanced Certificate, having your novel edited by Tammy, who is also a professional developmental editor.

Basic Certificate

San Diego Writers, Ink members may earn a Basic Certificate in Novel Writing by taking the following workshops. Ideally these workshops would be taken in order, though it is not necessary they be taken successively. All workshops are only offered once a year, and must be completed within a three year period in order to earn the certificate:

  • Novel I: Intro to the Novel
  • Novel II: Intermediate Novel Writing
  • Novel III: Characterization in the Novel
  • Novel IV: Plot & Structure
  • Novel V: Revising the Novel
  • Query Writing (held in December) (registration cost is separate from package deal)


Additionally, participants in the Basic Certificate Program must complete at least five hours of writing time at The Ink Spot during “Room to Write” Sessions. (These sessions will be at no cost to those working on their certificates.)



$725 (20% discount over taking these five courses separately!) if you buy all five Novel Writing classes at once (query writing and the one-on-one are separate). This discount is only good for members.

If you purchased these classes separately the price would be $900.


Advanced Certificate

An Advanced Certificate may be earned by:

1) Completing the above coursework

2) Participating in ten hours of writing time at SDWI

3) Receiving an editorial review with Tammy Greenwood, followed by a one hour one-on-one consultation. (The fee for this service is an additional $80 per 10,000 words, and member must have a complete first draft.)

NOTE: Those that completed Novel I, II, III, IV, and V in 2014 are eligible for the certificate as well. All classes must be completed within three years of students to receive a certificate.